Flying a copter at 17k ft

Hey All,
I’m looking for advice on high-altitude flying. According to ecalc our aircraft should manage just fine, but I know real world conditions can be quite different. Our aircraft uses 13" props and has an AUW of 3.2kg.

It’s not only a question of power but at that height you should have an eye on temperature (battery capacity) and specs of your baro. You’ll have less than half of the pressure compared to sea level.

Yeah, I believe you’d just need a slight increase in prop size, and maybe battery warmers prior to use.
I’m not experienced with this though… Just what I read.

Yes, for that height you will need a complete new design. I don’t know what is the objetive of the project, but a multirotor is not a good flying machine for that high altitude. Maybe a fixed wing could do the job better.
Then, at this height, air density is about 50% that at sea level. That means that the thrust power for a multirotor should be 4 times the weight.
Then, temp would be arround 0ºF.
Consider also the amount of energy (battery size) that you will need to go up there and then do something. Be aware that flying time calculations at sea level are not valid.
There are special propellers for high altitude, but probably and without making any calculation, they will be closer to 28" than to 13".
So… for high altitude is needed a high altitude design.