First APM "fixed wing"

Hello all;

I sure hope I posting in the right place.

I want to build my first APM/FPV airplane. I have had no success with the APM on a Quadcopter even though I can fly my 4 KK2 board quads just fine.

I have been flying RC for about 10 years now and have mostly foam planes. I have several suitable (I think) platforms to put an APM 2.5 in. I have three APMs from RCtimer. GPS and telemetry (use 915Mhz).

I have a seaplane called a Great Planes “Seawind” that I have flown quite a few times. It has a large equipment bay and parts are available from Tower Hobbies. I ordered a replacement canopy and mounted a full size servo in the top of the canopy by cutting a hole to fit. I am mounting a 808 Keychain camera on top and drive it with the knob on a ER9X system.

I have several Windrider EleBee’s and they are actually my favorite planes to fly. I have seen some folks modifying these on another forum and think I will take my oldest, lowest airframe time, EleBee and convert it to a brushless motor and ESC. I think I can fabricate the new aluminum mount for the motors. This plane is still set up on 72 Mhz. I am told this is a good thing for longer range flights. I have a Futaba 7 channel with PCM function. (same camera setup except the servo will be on the Rudder channel. I think this will be very cool) :slight_smile:

The point.

Should I use the latest version of the firmware or one of the older versions?

Where do I find the settings for a Delta/Vtail airframe?

What flight modes are recommended for newbees?

Where should I start reading?

Does the APM need to be mounted right at the CG point in a fixed wing?

Sudsy

I’m sure I have a lot more questions!

Well…

CG - best to mount it as close as possible to avoid any funky influences.

Have a look here for configuration files plane.ardupilot.com/wiki/configu … rframes-2/ you will of course have to tune them as they won’t be perfect.

Everything you need for tuning is here