Extreme roll or pitch is shutting motors down and then disarming them

Just built an X-quad using a Pixhawk FC , been a very steep learning curve, I flashed the unit with firmware 3.5.7 , have done all the necessary calibrations in order, even did the ESCs as well.
The problem I am seeing at present is when I throttle up all is working as it should, but when I use the Pitch/roll to it’s extremities (mode 2) then one of the motors will slow down or stop and then all four motors will shut down and then I have to re-arm the system.
I’m at a total loss here to what the cause of it… anyone have any pointers than can help me rectify this problem…

I am a relative newbie with Pixhawk and I do want to get the most out of the system…

Does this happen with props on, while flying? Or is it with no props, while resting on the ground?

Thanks for the reply,much appreciated.

no props and on the test bench, don’t want to risk flying it whilst this is happening…

Your test is meaningless then. What you are witnessing is typical of a grounded craft in an assisted flight mode.

pardon my ignorance, I come form a DJ Naza background, and as such this is all new and somewhat alien to me.
I have the craft armed in stabilize mode, I’m a tad sceptical about attempting a flight while the craft is exhibiting this (to me) strange behaviour…

Condolences on the DJI toy background.
What you do is trip the crash detection, either go do so e real flying, or disable crash detection. :slight_smile:

had to start somewhere…LOL… just a tad worried about damage that may occur with my inexperience with all things Ardupilot

update: I disabled the crash function, now I’m able to test the motors, can’t understand why a single motor is slowing down and/or stopping when extreme roll or pitch up/down is reached… is this normal behaviour for this type of FC??