Esc will not work with my pixhawk

Hello,
I just tried hooking up my Motors to my pixhawk 2.4.8.
However they don’t want to spin. Neither After arming (which does work) nor with the Motor Test in Mission planner.

I’m actually using 2 Motors in skid steer mode and Set my params to servo1_function=73 and servo3_function=74
Pilot_steer_type=1 and my radio is calibrated.

What Brothers me, is that my esc Outputs 5.5v via the + wire. After connecting the esc to main Out 1 (or 3) the pixhawk will start flashing red and blue instead of just blue.

Whenever I remove the plus wire from the esc, it will only flash blue.
My esc also will beep 3 times according to my battery. But the last 2 beeps are missing.

I’ve been thinking about it being the voltage on the power rail. But can’t pin it down to that. I even used a small resistor to drop the voltage. But that didn’t help.

I’m not experienced with pixhawk or ardupilot whatsoever. So I would appreciate any help :slight_smile:

Edit: I did read the ardupilot wiki from top to bottom by the way. However I seem to overlook something.

Pilot steer type 1 is only needed if you want to use two stick input. One stick for the left side motor(s), one for the right side motor(s), like in a tank. With a standard or a car type rc transmitter, choose pilot_steer_type 2 or 3, depending on what you prefer.
Do your ESCs support bidirectional operation? Does the servo_trim value match the neutral/zero input the ESCs expect?

Thanks for the tip about the steering type. I will change that.

My esc does support 2 directions… they say. But i have to admit that i’m struggling a little bit with the calibration. I have not been able to get the motor turn backwards.

Would that be a dealbreaking thing, why the pixhawk would not spin the motors?

Ardurover expects bidirectional ESCs.