ESC Firmware and Supported Protocols

Hello. (tldr at bottom)

Pretty new to drones and multi-rotor crafts in general. I am an engineer working on a DIY project for fun and personal skill development and had a few questions regarding ESC setup/capabilities with some of the current products out there.

1. I’ve noticed that some ESCs running BLHeli_S firmware are able to auto-detect the communication protocol from the MCU (i.e. PWM, OneShot, DSHOT, etc.) and I was wondering if this is generally universal with all ESCs that run on BLHeli_S, or are there exceptions?

2. Similar question for ESCs running BLHeli32. Does this firmware generally have auto-detection features for communication protocols?

3. Lets say hypothetically I want to send my own motor control signals from my own MCU. Should I just stick with simple individual ESCs (i.e. Aikon SEFM 30A 2-6S) that I know can take standard PWM signals? Or is there any possibility I can hookup a more modern 4x1 ESC and route its connections to individual pins? Take the SpeedyBee 50A 4x1 ESC for example. This ESC has 8 connections (Vbat, Gnd, M1, M2, M3, M4, Current, Telemetry) which all connect to an FCU (generally the SpeedyBee F405). I assume that the Vbat and Gnd are simply routing power which I can connect to my MCU, and then M1-M4 I could hookup to some PWM outputs on the MCU (assuming the ESC can auto-detect this protocol as opposed to the DSHOT600 it normally runs), telemetry is not actually present on ESC so its useless and I assume current connection measures current so if I don’t care I can also avoid routing this as well. My main concern here is that the ESC is looking for some communication in SW to the standard FCUs out on the market so I don’t know if it will work by connecting it as I said. Looking for some input on this, would be much appreciated, THANKS

tldr: do all BLHeli_S/BLHeli32 ESCs support any input protocol (such as standard PWM)? Could I MacGyver a modern 4x1 ESC to use a custom built MCU?