Esc configuring error with 9XR/FrSky and APM 2.6

I have a 9XR radio with a FrSky DJT module. I have the APM 2.6 Mega and when I run the Mission Planner with my tx/rx ready, and go into the initial setup-radio calibration, my sticks are all messed up (technical term). The throttle makes the pitch, throttle and roll move, yawl is good, roll makes the pitch and throttle go opposite directions and pitch works like throttle, except that roll is reversed. I’m not sure what I’ve done wrong. I have the 3 wire servo cables running straight from the receiver to the inputs of the APM with no jumpers. I read something about if the radio is PPM, I would need to jump the ‘s’ pins on inputs 1 and 2 (which I have not done). Any ideas? Thanks.
-dave
btw, I’m kind of new to most of this stuff. It’s my first time building my own quad.

Sorry, the ‘ESC’ part of the title is misleading. I’m sure once the stick overlap issues are solves, my ESC’s will calibrate fine. The beep tones with them went on forever and although they did power up with the throttle, they also powered up with the pitch (just like the Radio Calibration screen showed). And the configuration once done, would not save. When I powered it down and back up again, nothing saved.
One problem at a time. :slight_smile:
-dave

Hi Dave,

A couple of things pop out.

1. It sounds like you might have some kind of programmed mixing taking place in your transmitter.
    I am pretty sure you don’t want that.
    You should program your transmitter for straight normal airplane acro mode.
    Even for a copter: throttle - rudder - aileron - elevator operation, no elevons, flaperons or mix or any of that stuff.

2. You need to have 4 servo signal cables for channels 1 through 4 for Throttle, aileron, rudder and elevator.
    Plus one more (Channel 5) for mode select hooked to a 3 position switch if possible.