English teacher conscripted into teaching Robotics needs help with Pixhawk/MP setup

Sorry for such a newbie post, but I’m at my wits end. I’m almost to the point of hiring a Pakistanian software engineer on fiverr to help out.

I’m a high school English teacher who has been volun-told to teach Robotics. We’re trying to build an autonomous boat. We can’t figure out how to get the pixhawk and mission planner to move a servo. I know it’s something simple but we just can’t figure it out. We’ve been doing research and watching youtube for three weeks now and still can’t make it work. Please help.

Here’s what we have:
pixhawk 2.4.8 with GPS module, xt60 power module, and telemetry radio
Taranis X9D plus 2019
X8R receiver
Windows 7 laptop with current MP software
ASMC-04B heavy duty servo for rudder control
futaba s3003 servo for testing
Generic ESC from amazon

Here’s what we have done:
Installed MP on laptop
Installed latest Rover firmware on Pixhawk
run initial calibration on pixhawk
bound the x8r to the taranis
updated taranis with open tx
we can see the transmitter working when calibrating the radio in MP
Kids have figured out how to make waypoint missions in MP

We can’t figure out how to make a servo actually move. Which of the outputs on the pixhawk to use, how to map the transmitter signal through the pixhawk/mission planner to an output on the pixhawk.

We need to set up a button on the taranis to toggle between manual and waypoint mission control.

We need to figure out how to bind the ESC to pixhawk.