EKF First test, not so good

AC 3.2.1 Log File attached.

Ok, so I have been fighting with this copter for a couple months. It flies well. It just that my video from Althold, Loiter or PosHold is jittery, especially in forward flight. Still jittery in backwards flight but not as bad. Even in hover there is some Jitter…

PID’s PID’s PID’s Been up and down the scale… I can change the feel but nothing realu changes my jitters in any mode that involve AtlHold…

So, I stumbled on EKF and LOw and behold it was not turned on. So I programmed my Chnl 7 switch so I can toggle in and out of it.

Took off this morning, (not ideal winds 12-15mph but they are only gonna get worse for the next few days…) As soon as I went into PosHold the copter dropped 2-3 meters, (see log) and recovered. Then it was kind all over the place…

I was so hopping that EKF would be the answer… And maybe it still is? Seems to me in any mode that involves AltHold that Baro noise is causing jitters…

I have more logs that are not EKF enabled if you like…

I read that EKF is default in 3.3 Is firmware upgrade in order? Can EKF be tuned better in 3.2.1

If I do have to upgrade, What do I lose, PID’s, cals, all?

Thanks…

The log does not contain anything conclusive, no RCOUT, no IMU logging.

You need to get it tuned, not in windy conditions.
Then you should expect it to hover fine, in any case hold altitude fine. - that should be the simplest thing.
EKF can smooth things out, it can save the day under certain circumstances, but it is not an excuse for poor parts or tuning.
You might as well disable it for now - just to be sure you can get it to fly properly without first.
Think of is at “garbage in, garbage out” - even if EKF can make something fly better, the result would be mediocre comapres if the thing flew fine first, then got EKF enabled.