Documentation on the various "flight" modes for Rover

I am very new to Ardupilot and want to start by messing with a Rover.

Can someone point me to a place to find documentation on the various “flight” modes used with ArduRover?

I have tried looking at rover.ardupilot.com/wiki/table-of-contents/ but don’t seem to be able to find what I am looking for.

Best regards,
Lars

@Lars Holst Hansen,
There are basically three “Flight” Modes of operation for the Rover:

1. Manual - the operator controls the steering and the throttle
  2. Learrning - the operator controls the steering and the throttle while recording waypoints with the set waypoint switch.
  3. Auto - where the rover autonomously navigates a mission consisting of prerecorded waypoints.

The Learning mode can be changed to the Steering mode where the operator controls the steering and throttle, but the APM essentially provides steering and throttle correction as if in the Auto mode.

Your Flight Modes should be setup initially (from the top) as: Auto, Auto, Learning, Learning, Manual, Manual. When I need the Steering mode, I change one of the Learning modes to Steering and change it back when I am done.

Regards,
TCIII Developer

1 Like

Thanks a lot for you advice!
I am using the new AP Planner 2 and noticed options for

LEARNING
RTL (Return To Launch)
HOLD
AUTO
STEERING
MANUAL
GUIDED

I there somewhere this list of modes is documented?

I figured out what some of them was but was not sure about STEERING and HOLD and GUIDED.
Is HOLD simply used as a way to pause AUTO mode?

I am still playing with the PIXHAWK and have not yet connected an actual vehicle. I plan to use my Traxxas Summit but may face problems with the speed controller and will probably need a reversing Y-harness for the two opposite steering servos.

Best regards,
Lars

@Lars Holst Hansen,
I do not know if Guided and RTL have been implemented in the present firmware.