Difficulties with F405 and ELRS receiver communicating in Mission Planner

Gidday everyone,

I’m at a wits end over this problem but to summarise, I have a Diatone Mamba F405 Mk4 Mini connected, over UART 1 (serial 1), to a BetaFPV Nano ELRS Receiver. In Betaflight, all is good, receiver tab shows relevant changes in sliders as I move the sticks which is helpful to draw conclusions:

• RX and Transmitter (Zorro ELRS version) are bound, and latest 3.2.1 firmware on each.
  • RX and TX pins are not backwards.
  • These two boards are compatible with each other at least on BF firmware.
  • When in MissionPlanner, and transmitter is off for example, then all sliders on radio calibration screen are 0. When bound, the sliders are completely erroneous and don’t respond accurately to stick input.

So; I narrow it down to a MissionPlanner/Arducopter configuration issue that I cannot pinpoint.

I have followed all instructions in following links:

Some things that I am already aware of, have tried, or am certain of:

• Running ArduCopter 4.3.7
  • SERIAL1_PROTOCOL = 23 (RCIN)
  • SERIAL1_BAUD = 115 (amongst others)
  • SERIAL1_OPTIONS = 0 (and bit 9 for CRSF)
  • RSSI_TYPE = 3 (ReceiverProtocol)
  • RC_OPTIONS bit 13 set for baud rate 420k

I’m pretty new but keen to learn and try new settings to help you help me!
I would appreciate any assistance on this, and thank you in advance.

There is no DMA on that uart, on an F405 you are going to need to pick UART2 or UART6. Not sure if this is precisely your problem at the moment, but it will be.

Hey Andy,

Thanks heaps for that info. I have moved the receiver to UART 2 and it is now working as intended, so I thank you again! In hindsight I should have tried this earlier.

I do wonder still why all documentation is fairly adamant that UART 1 should be used for CRSF/ELRS Receivers, and/or why that didn’t work for me. For now though I’ll run with this!

Can you point me at the docs? We should update them.

Hi,