Dangerous Fly-Away Problem

Hey guys,
We were flying our VTOL quadplane drone yesterday, and the we unfortunately had a “flyaway” . When we armed the drone, it just started flying by itself (not in a “crazy” way - it looked like it was flying in auto mode), and we were not able to control it (only at some random points we could add throttle). Then, it flew away ~ 200m from us, beyond our line of sight. When we found it, it looked like it had landed perfectly fine, because it was upright, and there was no damage.

I downloaded the dataflash logs from this flight. The GPS and altitude signal looks correct. The flight mode was always QSTABLISE, never AUTO, RTL, or LAND etc…

This was a bit scary situation because the drone did not obey the geofence radius (it only obeyed the geofence max altitude), and it flew like 100m out of the geofence.
I am not experienced with reviewing logs, so I would appreciate some advice on what to look at , or maybe some of you could help me identify what happened. Hopefully it is something easily explainable or human error :slight_smile:

Link to the .bin log file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hUzyF3otZRwQj1iNhFnh-BsEnvtk9_zB/view?usp=sharing

Your fundamental mistake was to misunderstand the mode of operation. This flyaway was pure 100% human error.

In QSTABILIZE the throttle stick represents a direct throttle request for the motors (plus attitude stabilization). I assume you have a controller which springs the sticks to center in all four axes. As soon as you let go of the throttle after arming, it returned to center stick, which commanded the motors to half throttle which provided enough thrust to lift the drone off the ground, and it was then carried whereever the wind took it. You tried to put the throttle back to 0 to get the drone to move down, which it did just fine, but for whatever reason you stopped, the throttle sprung back to the center, and it resumed going up.