Copter will not climb above certain altitude (~30m)

moving this issue here from https://github.com/ArduPilot/ardupilot/issues/7834

copter will not climb above certain altitude (~30 m - cannot tell precisely - see log) in loiter and poshold mode. This is my first time testing with 3.5.5. My geofence is disabled.

If you graph baro or range finder ALT and overlay RCIN channel 3 its visible that despite control at max (~2000) the altitude stays at ~32m.

unrelated issues:

i also observed a drift despite of servos all being at 1500 - primarily in loiter mode, pos hold - unclear
third and fourth attempt at RTL caused a flyaway - had to abort, first and second attempt was fine.
none of these issues were present in 3.5.4

Version

Platform
[ ] All
[ ] AntennaTracker
[X] Copter
[ ] Plane
[ ] Rover
[ ] Submarine

Airframe type
HEX 680mm

Hardware type
pixhawk 2.1

Logs
LOG:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1VxF3pFrolqr2_Hm77EyynOckogxXSJU6

PARMS:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cfPOa6aM1I6JLs91K2trSQdpJNVpTWmG

rmackay9 commented 5 days ago
Thanks for the report although this is not really the place for support. Normally we ask that support requests be put in the forums. Sorry to be strict but if we’re not then the developer to-do list just turns into another support forum. Getting answers to support questions can be difficult but remember that here and in the forums, this is all unpaid volunteer support so you can’t set expectations too high really.

With that aside, I"m pretty sure this is all related to the optical flow sensor and accompanying lidar. It’s not letting the vehicle climb about 32m because it’s using the optical flow for position control but it can only do that if the vehicle stays within the range of the lidar. I suspect if you turn off the optical flow and only use GPS it will be able to climb higher.