Confused on the simplest way to receive telemetry on ground

Hi,
I’m an engineer working in the aerospace avionic industry, but I’m also an experienced old style model aircraft enthusiast, not flying anymore since about 10 years. I’m stuck with the classic PWM radio style and my current radio is an old fashioned 35Mhz crystal Graupner.

I’m trying to catch up with the latest technology and use ardupilot on one of my old aircrafts.

I’m really confused about the radio communication. As far as I understood there is the possibility to use the RC radio to carry both the RC radio data itself and also data from the ground station. Same for downlink (see diagram).

1. Is this actually possible with the available RC radios on the market?
  2. Are there limitations or criticality (other then redundancy) to do this?
  3. How the connection between the RC radio and the laptop is usually made?

I tried to search in the forum but similar topics are old and probably outdated.
Thank you so much
Adriano

ExpressLRS has a feature in development called mavlink-rc that does exactly that:

There is also mLRS (GitHub - olliw42/mLRS: 2.4 GHz & 915/868 MHz & 433 MHz/70 cm LoRa based telemetry and radio link for remote controlled vehicles) which is a bit more DIY at this point but support for ELRS hardware is coming along.

As these projects are in active development, the best place to get up-to-date info and setup help are their respective Discord servers:

ELRS: ExpressLRS Community

mLRS: mLRS

A bidirectional RC link does sound easiest, but it is a little problematic in practice and usually not the recommended path (at present).

If you just want telemetry down, you can use ExpressLRS and the Yaapu telemetry script on a compatible ExpressLRS transmitter (like Radiomaster TX16S, among others). Lots of discussion here and on GitHub about that script and its configuration.