Complete noob here <--

ok ive been at it for a week and have had no luck… and I cannot find any good tutorials or instructions…

its a tricopter… apm 2.5

ive installed firmware…
calibrated radio and accell…

im not using gps or anything other than the apm itself…

transmitter = FS-th9x
receiver = fs-r8b

when I disconnect from the mission planner and try to start it up I get the flashing red/blue then it goes yellow and blinks red…

not sure how to power the receiver, it does not power on from esc’s … ive read about the separate power supply…

not sure where I should plug the esc’s in… 123 on the receiver, then 123 on the apm?

ive noticed my transmitter uses ppm I believe… and saw some poor instruction on what to do but have no idea…

any help would be GREATLY appreciated… thanks

@dustinhhv,
Without a GPS, the APM will just do nothing but wait for a GPS 3D lock which it will not get without the GPS.
Regards,
TCIII Admin

@dustinhhv
Try this link: code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/APM2RC

Thank you Daedalus… so I figured it out… just had to arm it doyyy.
and thank you TCIII but it seems to work with no gps

Im getting some pretty wild spinning in circles on liftoff. Ive tried recalibrating the apm and the esc’s a few times… my battery is a little off center I dunno if that’s the cause… I flew it around the backyard as it did 360 after 360 seems ok other than that

im using the tri config on this page copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/connec … nd-motors/

the only thing ive seen is to do is what ive done, any ideas on this one?

@dustinhhv,
The spinning is probably caused by the fact that the heading is calculated from both the GPS and the compass inputs.
Regards,
TCIII Admin

im pretty sure its got the onboard compass, but from what ive read on multiple sites you don’t need the gps unless ur using waypoints, as of right now im only looking for stabilization. this page half way down says what im saying - ardupilot.co.uk/what-do-i-need.html