Compass interference, reading dataflash logs

Hi All,

This is my first post here. I am very new to this so please forgive me if I am a little ignorant. I have found the new Ardupilot site fantastic. Great resource.

I would like to use the log captured on my dataflash to see if I have any issues with compass interference. Can someone verify that I have the information correct please.

I am running APM 2.5 on the latest firmware 3.1.2. I have captured the necessary data (IMU and COMPASS) logs and have placed it into a spreadsheet. IMU for vibration COMPASS for compass interference. After capturing the data I turned both IMU and COMPASS off to reduce log file size and free up processor time as per instructions.

When looking this up on the Ardupilot site I noticed that the following was a little misleading:

[color=#400000]Another general thing to check re the compass is the offsets which should bet between -150 ~ 150. These are found in the tlog’s SENSOR_OFFSET group as mag_ofs_x, mag_ofs_y, mag_ofs_z and in the dataflash’s COMPASS message as[/color] [color=#FF0000]OfsX, OfsY, OfsZ[/color]. [color=#400000]They can also be seen in the parameters as COMPASS_OFS_X, COMPASS_OFS_Y, COMPASS_OFS_Z.[/color]

The dataflash COMPASS message is MOfsx, MOfsy and MOfsz. So initially I grabbed the wrong data (I think?) .

In the same section on the web site it also states the following:-
[color=#400000]Dataflash log’s COMPASS message hold the compass’s raw x, y and z axis values (called MagX, MagY, MagZ) which are equivalent to the tlog’s RAW_IMU xmag, ymag and zmag fields. It’s possible to calculate the mag-field length by first loading the dataflash log file into excel, filtering by the COMPASS message and then calculating the mag-field using the formula mag_field = sqrt(MagX^2, MagY^2, MagZ^2). Note that the COMPASS message is not enabled by default in the dataflash logs because it runs at 50hz and does affect CPU performance a bit. [/color]