Choosing an autopilot for a farm harvest rover

I am new to this and just getting started. I’m trying to build a rover for our vegetable farm and I need advice selecting an autopilot. There is lots of advice recommending Pixhawk, and I’m ready to buy one so I can start playing with it. but I’m not sure which version is the best fit for my application.

I plan to use RTK GPS so that the rover can eventually travel down the 66" wide vegetable growing beds without running over any plants. Imagine a table on wheels. Lots of space is need for the plants to pass underneath the table.

It will have independent drive and steering, using three motors. I’d like to use two in-wheel hub motors so that there is lots of space for the plants to go without axles, shafts and gearboxes getting in the way. The front wheels would be free-wheeling and would steer via a servo motor moving an Ackerman steering connection.

I want to avoid skid-steering so there is less of a chance of tearing up turf. Is it possible to program differential into the two drive motors, so that based on the position of the servo steering motor, one tire would run at a few percent more RPMs than the other. The harder the turn, the bigger the difference?

I’m looking for an autopilot that will allow me to do all this and will be easy to use for a beginner. Is there any one version of a Pixhawk that is ideally setup for this rover?

Hi Steve,

Yes, in my opinion you have come to the right place for your application. One example of ArduPilot using RTK to steer a large machine here. This is my [rover] (https://youtu.be/frFU9pNqIiI) that is closer to your desired design. It has a gas motor but uses two electrically driven wheels. It is a skid steer but the output from ArduPilot can also support steering front wheels as well.