Choosing An Antenna

Hi, I am relatively new to choosing antennas so I would appreciate some guidance on it. In this post, I have laid out my knowledge and questions/concerns I have. Thanks, and any help would be greatly appreciated!

So, I have RFD900 modules which currently don’t perform great at all, I get maybe a kilometer range with them (I have tried playing around with the settings but nothing is reliably working well with range). Changing the antenna could potentially fix this. I was thinking of purchasing a directional high gain antenna. The current system I have has a gain of about 2-3dbi. The new ones I am looking to purchase have a gain of around 15-17.5 dbi. For an example of the type of antennas I am looking at, here’s one: Kp Performance 17.5dBi 900MHz Single Pol. Yagi Antenna (5-Pack) (ispsupplies.com).

My concerns start with the fact that some of these antennas have input/max power rating which is much higher than the output power of the rfd900 module - about 1W output power for rfd900, but the antennas I found with high gain are input/max rated for anywhere between 50W (the link above) to I found some with 500W. Ardupilot’s guide, however (screenshot, the links no longer work), mentions some of the similar spec antennas (their doc is using a 433 mhz module).