Can i auto takeoff my easystar-II from the grass?

Hi all,
Please advice me if i can do auto takeoff from the park grass using arduplane?My plane doesn’t have a tail wheel.Just ailerons and rudder and it takes off okay in manual mode from its belly.It has enough power to take off from the grass.
But it would be nice to have auto takeoff as sometimes its hard to point it straight while taking off using manual mode.Thanks.

You should look into hand-launched auto takeoff. That will be more reliable and much better than belly-takeoff for this plane.

I hand-launch auto-takeoff with EasyStar2-like planes often, it works great.

Thanks for your reply hunt0r.
The only thing i am worried about hand launching this plane is its thrust line of the motor.It tends to nose dive to the ground if more than needed power is applied during take off.It has to be a good combination of enough throttle and elevator.Do you think arduplane will manage it automatically?I have no previous experience with it:(

Yes, ArduPlane will handle that just fine. The EasyStar2 is an excellent auto-takeoff platform, when configured correctly.

Okay,that’s great .Sure I would like to try out hand launch then. Could you please guide me what parameters i should be focusing on for hand launching easystar?Thanks

I agree with hunt0r.

Here is a compilation of ordinary hand launch and AutoTakeoff from my first fligthts with a similar plane - the Bixler 2.

After a lot of missed, and near missed ordinary hand launches (I am a bad thrower), I decided to try AutoTakeoff, and the succsess rate went up to almost 100%! Always best results with a little head wind during launch, I remember a few missed takeoffs trying to take off downwind :unamused: - see 6:08, the 14th takeoff…

The cause of the crash at 5:16 was a loose elevator servo plug, not related to Mission or AutoTakeoff.

Happy takeoffs (and landings)!
-Jan

2 Likes