Building custom flight controller using RP2040

Could someone please guide me to hardware, Circuit schematics and documentation to build my own flight controller that is compatible with ardupilot?

I’m planning to make flight controller based of RP2040 which is a 32-bit dual ARM Cortex-M0+ microcontroller. This should also communicate with companion computer like raspberry pi.

Thank you,
Nandan

There’s a bunch of schematics over at GitHub - ArduPilot/Schematics

I’m planning to make flight controller based of RP2040 which is a 32-bit dual ARM Cortex-M0+ microcontroller

The software patches for this could be complex, as you’ll need to create a new HAL for the RP2040.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply.
I have some experience with electronics and drones but not to the extent that I could write custom HAL. I thought I could retrofit but I was wrong.

If you want we can try. I am software developer and electronic too. I am interested but need more free time.
Actually ChibiOS have some support for RP2040, so we can use the ChibiOS HAL already included on Ardupilot.

Bumping this thread in light of terrifyingly unending STM32 shortage for the commonners :smiley:
RP2040 has fantastic stock health and price point at the moment, really unbeatable in the environment where MCUs pop out of shelf availability overnight.

I’m seriously considering doing the porting, but I’m a SW developer with limited hardware design experience, so if that is something that has a wider appeal, maybe someone can assist? For now I’ll probably just dumping questions aloud here.

For now some back of the envelope thoughts and questions:

1. RP2040 has 30 GPIO spare pins. ADC is only available on 4, so I’d reserve that for analog tasks. If we are up to design a multipurpose board, following Matek logic that would be battery voltage, battery current, analog RSSI and something else (analog baro? saw that in F405TE definitions, but is that actually used?)