Building a Custom Drone for University Agricultural Research: Feasibility, Ideas, and Feedback

Hello Ardupilot community,

I am a graduate student in a cranberry genetics laboratory who is putting together a proposal to purchase a lab drone for research (and attach a multispectral camera sensor). I have put together a list of options for my PI to review, with a range of customizable options. The least customizable options include a DJI Inspire 2 drone with hardware designed to mount to its gimbal interface and a DJI Matrice 2 drone with a newer Skyport interface that seems to be supported by many of the agricultural multispectral sensors I’ve been researching. A middle-of-the-road customizable solution is a DJI Matrice 100, which appears to be a good developmental platform, although adding components (such as live video streaming, visual guidance system) can quickly push the price skyward, and I am limited by proprietary DJI hardware and the fact that as an older model, DJI’s support for this model may dry up in time. At the most-customizable level, I’m proposing a hexacopter frame kit with suggested propulsion system, a gimbal that can attach ‘lightweight’ DSLR cameras and/or other sensors, with what I think is a nice-looking, high-quality flight controller unit that supports Ardupilot software (EMLID Edge).