Boat rover skid steer Params

Hello , Im setting up a skid steer boat and it’s going good, running good lines but the turns are a little sketchy, not smooth , it turns fast 90 degrees toward the next waypoint but then does some over correctlng back the other direction then maybe some bucking lol, it will then get onto the next long line and be fine. Hopefully someone can offer some tips to make smooth 90 degree turns and maybe show there parameter list.

I have done a lot of reading and many changes, it’s hard to know what really is effective changes.

Thanks may help will be useful

Post a .bin log or at the very least a parameter list and description of the boat for starters. Really need the .bin though.

Hello, thanks for responding, I have it going decent, I just figured I would see if anything is way off and i can fine tune and turn better.

I’m a noob but here is a telem log from the other day on dropbox.

The boat consists of 2 plastic pontoons and a metal frame holding them together approx 40"x 24" dimensions, one thruster type motor under each pontoon.

tims new param.param (11.7 KB)

Also this travels slow my desired speed is 0.5 - 2.0 m/s

.bin is what is needed . the tlog I will look at later.

Your NAVL1 is 30 which could be a bit to high. Other than that your compass offsets look odd and you have no failsafes in place. I have a somewhat similar size catamaran and my NAVL1 is 16 I think

Thanks I’ll look in to NAVL1 , the onboard compass calibration does not work,I just play with the y axis to get the heading dialed in before I start a mission. Where are the failsafe features?

Are you using Mission Planner to set this up?

http://ardupilot.org/rover/docs/rover-failsafes.html

thanks I found the failsafes