Bathymetric UAV mapping boat construction and getting my feet wet with ardupilot

Designed as a Lake Michigan coastal cruiser, this one meter cedar, bottom heavy boat is supposed to cruise at a modest sonar mapping speed for at least eight hours. I am a novice at micro electronics and am going through a steep learning curve. Having read and reread the documentation, it is time for me to start making hardware decisions.

I have tentatively set my sights on an economical path of the Beagle Blue for autopilot, Turnigy basic controller, Ublox Gps and Compass module, QgroundControl on android, chromebook, and Windows 10, Cuav Pw for telemetry, and no clue yet on servo/rudder or ESC/brushless motor drive.

I see a whole set of experienced folks doing this better but here goes the newbie questions. These hardware choices are my best attempt at following the advice in the docs, I may not have it right. The idea is to have limited telemetry with mostly scripted mapping. So what hardware choices are dead wrong, what choices allow the use of my masts for the telemetry and gps? Assuming a 800kv 12v brushless motor run at the bottom end amperage, what battery system am I looking at for eight hours service. Finally, what are the best resources (discussions or people) for me on the forum going forward. Appreciate any help, thanks.

1 Like

Now I have reconsidered the linux route as more than I can handle so I am back to looking at autopilots, excuse me as I stumble around.

For the autonomous boat as you describe you will want reliable hardware. The Mro PixRacer Matt suggests is good and pair it with one of their GPS/compass modules. A 1m mono hull boat may be on the small side for the purpose you have described (I’m in Michigan). What is this hull?