Bait Boat for a first Project?

I wanted to make a boat for cruising around lake Michigan autonomously with a GoPro. I have lots of experience with Ardupilot and lots of equipment. I do not want to drop $800 on a hull or custom build one for a first dabble. How about a bait boat? With some 3D printing I can likely add a superstructure for electronics and a GoPro upfront.where the bait buckets are:
https://www.amazon.com/Goolsky-Flytec-Loading-Control-Fishing/dp/B07DFZT5LV

Love to find a bigger hull but they are not easy to find. These Russian ones look great. https://camarad.ru/
Check out the video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LAv5W-sjDIA

Maybe for a second project…

Anyone have any other ideas about good Rc boats to convert? Most of the Rc models do not look ideal. Suprised to find there is not more blogging on this topic (yet!).

Marc-If you search “Arduboat” on YouTube you will see some interesting craft. Mr. Boulanger’s (posts on here) twin hull is very nice and another one Randy McKay built. But you are right that there are not many retail offerings to build from. I have the same interest as I have other land based Rovers and I’m in Michigan surrounded by water.

1 Like