Bad reaction to controller in Loiter mode, other modes fine

A few days ago, I did a successful test flight with a new build in loiter mode (Pixhawk 1, Arducopter 4.2, Holybro X500 V2 frame). However, I observed some shaking during flight, so I reduced some parameters by 50% according to this. I also performed a manual ESC calibration since the throttle went up a little late.
From this point on, the motors reacted very slowly and non-linearly in loiter mode. In stabilize, the behaviour seems to be fine. I completely reset the FC, but that didn’t fix it either.
Since I’m a really bad pilot and loiter mode is the only mode I can fly without crashing, I pretty much depend on it…

The following videos illustrate the behaviours:

Loiter:

Note that this happens inside on my desk with questionable GPS accuracy, but the behavior is the same as outside.

Stabilize:

The log of my failed loiter attempt is here.

If you are basing this on the bench test in those videos this is expected behavior. Inside/outside won’t matter. Use Mission Planners Motor Test to bench test motors.

It’s not based on the bench test. I attempted a flight in loiter mode outside with good GPS reception and immediately experienced this behaviour. The bench test was done later to illustrate the problem and it behaves just like outside.

The motor test under Setup->Optional Hardware->Motor Test works without problems. Should I look out for anything there?

Post a link to that .bin flight log.

It’s the log I posted at the end of my question. Because the motors where so uncontrollable, I never lifted off. That’s why I call it a loiter attempt.

Yea, that log is of no real value other than to extract parameters from. I think most get those off the ground with the S500 parameters posted and tune from there.

Why is the log of no value? What else can I provide or do to help this discussion.