Autotune and Mission Planner

Hello. I hope this makes sense. I have Arducopter 2.6 and use a Turnigy 9x rx and tx with no mods.I have configured the 3 way switch and the gear switch on the 9x for 6 flight modes. Basically got the info from YouTube. Therefore, I don’t really, truely understand the switches on the 9x.

My issue is that I want to assign the autotune function to switch 7 like the advanced parameters state in Mission Planner. Where is switch 7 and what do I need to do to make it work?

Sorry if this is not the correct place to ask but this is making me crazy

Thanks for any help.

You’ll need to connect an extra channel from CH7 on your radio to RC7 on the APM, then set the CH7 option to Autotune.

Thanks. But I am still confused. So I need to attach servo connection between channel 7 on Tx to channel 7 on APM. It was never explained to me that it had to be hard wired!!! Like I said, I am very new to all of this. Unfortunately, it is not very intuitive as how to actually program one of the two way switches to be channel 7 on the Turnigy 9X. It is easy for the gear switch as it is one of the choices for the aux channel of the T9X. But I am already using that channel for my 6 way mode switching. The other obvious options are all potentiometer knobs and not really suited for triggering autotune…and of course, the T9X is a cheap radio with hard to follow instructions…Oh well. Thanks for trying to help me out…

Ch6 or 7 from your Rx is connected to Aux2 or 3 to enable those extra features: see pic

You can also switch on Autotune through Mission Planner with telemetry if you have it without having to hardwire an extra channel, but you’d probably need an extra person to do it while you fly.

Gear switch would’ve been ideal as it’s on/off. But you can use a pot too, one side will be on, the other side off. Good luck.