Autopilot went haywire

I’m new to the APM quad world. I got my Quad set up and working great this week and I wanted to test the Autopilot function of the APM2.5. I planned a simple box with 6 way points, a take off, 4 corners, and a land point. I loaded the mission up to the APM, went and armed the motors, went to the actions tab and told it to run the mission(the UBlox GPS had been on for 3-4 mins before). It didn’t take off on its own. so I gave it a little bit of throttle and it lifted a couple feet then the APM took over. but instead of heading to the first way point it went the opposite direction then started a long arc around and up. It flew itself over a road and straight towards some buildings no where near the plan I had made. The Max alt for the plan was 15ft, it went well over 200ft. I started to try to bring it back when it was over the road, I had a little ability to direct it with my controller, After i had it over the field again I quickly told it on my computer to tell it to return to launch. it started to descend (fall really) in a direction away from the launch point and then dove into the ground breaking my rig. I’m trying to figure out why it didn’t function properly. I’m pretty upset it did such a horrible job and ended up wrecking my quad.

Anyone have any idea what I did wrong or what could have malfunctioned? i ordered new parts already and i want to get the autopilot function working.

thanks.

Hi Mitch,