Autopilot RC Rover Track & Field Pacer

Hello,

I am a Computer science student and track athlete specializing in distance races and have nobody to race because of COVID for awhile. Solo races suck, so I’ve been thinking about a way to make a pacebot from an off-the-shelf RC Car. I was directed here from an RC forum. Here’s that thread if you’re interested. https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?p=3787617#post3787617

My plan is to use the PixHawk 4 to control some off-the-shelf RC Car, and write a Mission to run the car around the 400m track at a fixed speed around 20 kph. Doing this for 12.5 laps results in a 15:00 5k. I’m still fuzzy on how exactly I can achieve this kind of bot control. I would really appreciate it if you could point out where I may be going wrong.

1. Components
    Raspberry Pi x2 ( Have already )

Transmitter $180

Line Sensors: 10$
https://www.amazon.com/DZS-Elec-TCRT…/dp/B07S612KT1

Off-The-Shelf RC Truck $100
https://www.arrma-rc.com/rc-cars/latest/granite/voltage

GPS Addition for PixHawk AutoPilot $42
https://www.getfpv.com/holybro-pixha…o-m8n-gps.html

1. Create Mission either with GPS or setup mission to respond to arudino/raspberry pi sensors ( line sensors or position sensors )
  2. Load Firmware into Pixhawk via laptop with Mission Planning software
  3. Bind Pixhawk to RC Car Receiver (not sure exactly how this works)
  4. Start Mission once Car is placed on starting line
  5. Try not to step on the Bot while running

Concerns:
Pixhawk may not bind with off-the-shelf RC cars
GPS may be too imprecise for a small area ( Tracks are approximately 80m x 130m)
Line sensor control does not keep up at speeds around 20 kph
Using a Pre-programmed path without line sensors or GPS may have the car gradually (or not gradually) drift off course each lap even with periodic distance sensors placed around the track to
keep it in line.

Track and Rover

Thanks for any help!