Autonomous Glider from High Altitude balloon

Hey! Somebody told me i should be sharing my progress here.

This project aims to autonomously return a glider from a high altitude balloon (100,000 feet). I just wrapped up “proof of concept” autonomous glides dropped from a hexacopter. We’re ready for 18,000 foot class E flight testing, pending how our talks with the faa begins and ends.

Heres the video! Let me know what you guys think.

5 Likes

What’s the intended use? Thanks for the video!

Hello, Nice project !

Although i may be the bringer of sad news, I am a graduate student in Arizona and have been trying to get something similar to work in the context of high altitude flight research. Talked with the FAA a lot and as a summary: when flying in class E (or class A above that) you are going to be under the same set of rules as general aviation (and airliners in class A), meaning part 91. Essentially they are going to require some sort of “see and avoid” capability on the plane (and FPV doesn’t count for that). “sense and avoid” with something like an ADSB receiver could be possible in class A but it is not a required piece of equipment in class E, so for us the FAA was requiring a manned chase plane from 400 to 18,000 ft. In the end they said our best bet was to gain access to restricted airspace.

Although it’s nice to see someone else having a go at this sort of project ! i wish you all the best and don’t hesitate to get in touch if you want more information or would like to try to combine our efforts in regards to the FAA.

Thank you
Adrien

2 Likes

Just as a demonstrator for now, to prove that we can. Anything else ill get to down the road :slight_smile:

“sense and avoid” with something like an ADSB receiver could be possible in class A but it is not a required piece of equipment in class E’’

Hello! Thanks for the response.

I may be the bringer of good news :slight_smile: