Automatic Takeoff

Hi!
Please tell me, the plane in the “TAKE OFF” mode takes off badly. The plane just doesn’t have enough thrust… In logs it is visible that the autopilot too early throws off the throttle, I can not understand why?

Log of this flight:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgyvhCRrlh2RiU0S8u8kkzHNgZtT?e=KMQUG4

No one knows the answer to my question?
Can someone tell me why the throttle level can be limited before the height of “TKOFF_LVL_ALT” is reached ?

I’m really new at this but I don’t see any airspeed sensor information. I would think that would be critical for auto takeoff before the plane can estimate winds. My guess is that without an airspeed sensor it assumes it is going at TRIM_ARSPD_CM when it is at TRIM_THROTTLE.

There is no airspeed sensor on the model.

A plane without an airspeed sensor is like you being blindfolded while driving a car.

1 Like

Ah, but… with a GPS you know ground-speed… which is how at least two ‘dumb’ autopilot/return to home units with auto-launch work… and they don’t have air-speed sensors! :stuck_out_tongue:

Yes, I am that person :laughing:

I have the exact same issue, not enough trust after launch.
In my log it’s because the take off mode is skipped too early (actually I don’t even know if take off correctly detected). Xaccel is detected and right after, takeoff mode is skipped for circle.
see my post

It looks like the same for you.

If things work right, you do not need an airspeed sensor for auto takeoff. The throttle should slew to the takeoff max (probably 100%) until it’s moving pretty fast.

But you’ve already determined that it’s not an issue with the behavior within takeoff mode, but that the mode is changing to circle. One thing that might be involved is that if Arduplane believes a takeoff is complete, switching back into auto will only partially start over with the takeoff command, i.e.,

1. The motor(s) will start on x axis acceleration exceeding the trigger value