Automatic seaweed removal manoeuvre

Hi,
as I am mainly using my ASV for marine research, floating seaweed is always a huge problem for propellers.
Looking at the SolarSurfer code on GitHub, they implemented a seaweed removal manoeuvre in case of sudden speed loss and increased current consumption which could be ported to the ArduBoat core software without adding any other peripherals.
Do you think it could be a feasible addition?

I have a lot of experience with Blue Robotics Thrusters (400 hours or so). Reversing them does not mean they will shed any sea weed or other material they have picked up. It tends to get wrapped up in the shaft or tolerances that it can get into and reverse will not always get rid of it. The ESC will over heat and shut down also. Screens are a better option I think.

Maybe with other types of propeller the manoeuvre they developed could be useful, especially for autonomous systems that must travel for long routes without maintenance.

This is the algorithm btw:

void execute() {
		Helmsman::setHeading(degrees(desiredCourse));
		Helmsman::setPower(desiredPower);
		if ( RemoteControl::isManual() ) {
			Helmsman::executeManual(RemoteControl::getSteering(),RemoteControl::getPower());
		} else if ( forceSeaweedRemoval ) {
			if ( !removalManueverPerformed ) {
		  	uint32_t elapsedTime = (millis() - seaweedRemovalTimer)/1000;
		  	if ( elapsedTime < 10 ) {
		  		Helmsman::executeManual(0,0);
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 18 ) {
		  		Helmsman::executeManual(0,-350);
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 20 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 28 ) {
		  		Helmsman::executeManual(0,350);
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 30 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 38 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 40 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 48 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 50 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 58 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 60 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 68 ) {
		  	} else if ( elapsedTime < 70 ) {
		  	} else {