Auto Problem in 3.0.3

Hi all,

I hope someone is willing to help a newbie here because I need it… Here goes:

I cannot get my plane to follow a GPS flight plan. The weird part is that back in January 2014, with the same APM and GPS, I was able to fly missions no problem. I have updated both the APM firmware and the Mission Planner. Has anything significant changed while I’ve been away from the APM that would prevent me from being successful?

Here are some more details:
My set up today is a 900mm Popwing with a HK APM 2.5 with a HK uBlox GPS receiver. Power to the APM is supplied through the 2A BEC in the ESC. No telemetry.

When I plan a flight in Mission Planner, (Oborne’s 1.3.7) it writes and reads to and from the APM just fine. The Grad% is reasonable and the absolute altitude box is unchecked. When I write the waypoints to the APM, download a log, and view the .kmz, it shows my ground track in each flight mode, but does not show the waypoints. The last time it worked (January) it showed the waypoints as part of the .kmz. Has this changed from the January versions? (pre-2.74b on the APM) I should also add that I had to set the home altitude to zero before every waypoint write back in January, or it wouldn’t work. I’ve tried that now (August), and it has no effect.

When I switch into Auto, the plane has a varied response. Sometimes, it turns toward the first waypoint, and sometimes it doesn’t. The only constants are that it dives at the ground and shuts the motor off. I can slow the descent since I have FBW mixing enabled, but whether it heads to the waypoint or just dives seems completely random.

Every other mode works perfectly. Both FBW modes perform as expected, RTL reliably brings it back (except that I had to set ALT_HOLD_RTL to -1 or the plane climbs into oblivion), ACRO holds attitude, etc…

If someone could enlighten me to my problem, I would be very grateful. If you have any questions about the problem/setup/etc, I’d be more than happy to answer.