AT Pitch - Ready to throw this thing out the window!

I’ve been working on a few AT projects this past month, and can use some help. I have no previous experience with coding, and have figured everything out on my own so far with the help of this forum.

Through way to many hours of trial and error, I got it to work for Pan, but getting the pitch to work has me ready to scrap the whole thing.

I’ve tried using postion and continuous rotation servos for the pitch. I was never able to get the position servos to work right. I recently switched to a continuous rotation servo (HSR-2648CR) and somewhat had it working. It would accurately track a sim plane at altitudes above 200m, but not below, regardless of PID or max/min pitch settings. After taking a break for an hour, I fired it up again and now I can’t get it to track pitch at all.

I would welcome any suggestions! My setup is below. Please note, I changed the layout after the photo. The PX4 now sits on the tilt frame and moves with the pitch.

I also would like to know how to disable the internal compass on the PX4 and only use the external compass in the GPS puck, so that I can swap them so only the GPS puck moves with the pitch.

Physical Hardware Setup

•Custom designed gimbal frame, 3D printed
•Pixhawk 4 Autopilot w AT 1.0 firmware
•Mission Planner, latest release
•Hitec HSR 2648 continuous rotation servos for Pan and Tilt.
•Holybro sik Telemetry (vehicle to AT)
•OLED display on i2c.
•5000mah 3cell lipo, PX4 power module, Castle creations 10 amp BEC @ 5v feeding the servos.

For the Sim:

•I run two separate instances of MP with AT firmware on the computer.
•One connected to the tracker via USB for adjusting parameters.
•The second running the same AT firmware Sim with Plane, circling my house at various altitudes with a radius of 200M. MavLink telemetry from Sim is sent to the actual tracker via a Sik radio connected to computer via USB.

image image image image image image