ArduSub and Gazebo not letting BlueRov2 to enter Guided mode

Hello,
I would like to preface I could not find a category for ArduSub, so I labeled it as ArduRover. I am currently using this repo: GitHub - evan-palmer/blue at humble I am now running into a problem where I can not get the sim to entered guided mode. The ROS CLI, MAVProxy CLI, and qgroundcontrol all fail to switch the BlueROV2 into guided mode. There are other repos that allow the BlueROV2 to enter guided mode but those repos are not ROS compatible at the time. I originally thought I needed a simulated GPS but it appears that might not be the problem, and something else could be the problem. I am new to this stack of technology so any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Hi @ssicari - I’m working through the installation instructions of the Blue project. I develop on macOS so there are a few minor tweaks to get everything building.

• Using ArduPilot Sub-4.1.
  • Simulation is running using: ros2 launch blue_bringup bluerov2_heavy.launch.py use_sim:=true.
  • Sub responds to manual commands: rc 5 1600 etc.
  • Sub will not switch to GUIDED.
  • No position reported in map.
  • No global postion:
MANUAL> status GLOBAL*
MANUAL> 2332: GLOBAL_POSITION_INT {time_boot_ms : 647473, lat : 0, lon : 0, alt : -1230, relative_alt : -1123, vx : 0, vy : 0, vz : 0, hdg : 10456}
MANUAL> status GPS*
MANUAL> 2568: GPS_RAW_INT {time_usec : 0, fix_type : 0, lat : 0, lon : 0, alt : 0, eph : 65535, epv : 65535, vel : 0, cog : 0, satellites_visible : 0, alt_ellipsoid : 0, h_acc : 0, v_acc : 0, vel_acc : 0, hdg_acc : 0, yaw : 0}

Looks like the problem is the lack of a global fix. I’m not that familiar with the sub code and the appropriate param set up. The next step would be to compare params and mavros config with a package where I’ve had the guided and auto modes working (e.g. GitHub - clydemcqueen/bluerov2_ignition: BlueROV2 model for Gazebo Garden).