ArduPilot and mission planner

Is mission planner a part of Arducopter or are they separate? Correct me if I am wrong but Ardupilot is used to download the proper firmware into a controller but mission planner sets the controller paerameters? I see that a raspberry pi can be used to control a mission like start, move to point A, and then land. Can mission planner do the same thing? Do I need a Pi to program a mission? As you can see I am a beginner here and probably am not asking the right questions.

If I install a F7??? controller and use Ardupilot, can I then use the same hardware configuration if I want to set up BetaFlight or Inav? I would like to be able to change between Arducopter and Betaflight and inave if possible.

Please don’t just repost the same questions over and over. As Dave already mentioned, to answer them in any detail would just be regurgitating existing documentation. Here are some YouTube channels that might help if the docs have been confusing.

1 Like

I have been reading the documentation after which somethings are still not clear.
Sorry to bother you. Please ignore my questions in the future.

Not ignoring you. But attempting to point you in the right directions.

Ardupilot is flight control software as is Betaflight and iNav. Mission Planner is a Ground Control and configuration program like Betaflight or iNav Configurator but with much more capability that Ardupilot allows.
You don’t need a companion Computer to configure or run an Auto Mission.
Many Flight Controllers will run Ardupilot, Betaflight and iNav.
“F7” is not the latest technology and will have limitations as has been suggested already.
Buy an H743 based Flight Controller and run whatever Flight Control software you want.

1 Like

Somebody writes different firmware for each controller. This firmware implements the PID algorithm for example. However, each controller needs different firmware.