ArduBoat Project to Clean Water Pollution (Project ORRCA)

Hello members of the Ardu Boat community! I am Aditya, I’m not really new to the Ardupilot scene, however I’m new to this whole forum thing. I’ve built a few Arducopters (single blade as well as multicopter) before but my “expertise” is in the arduboat world and ASV systems. I’m sharing an ardboat project I’ve been working on for a long time now, this is the fourth iteration of the project.

Without further to do, here’s the good stuff you want to hear. My project is called Project ORRCA it’s an ASV developed in response to the BP oil spill to clean water pollution. It can clean oil, sediments, nitrates, phosphates, and other non-polar chemical pollutants from the water bodies.

Here is a link to some photos: NAUTALIA V4 PHOTOS

And a design video: Nautalia V4 Design

And the Official Project Website: Project ORRCA

In general, the Nautalia (its name) is a 2 meter class Autonomus Surface Vessel powered by ardupilot (a modified APM 2.8). It can be controlled via ground station or via a transmitter which I am holding in the pictures (more images later). It also has a 5.8ghz FPV connected to a go-pro that live streams to the ground station. I am trying to make this a “product” so making it as user friendly as possible, you don’t need to remove the batteries to charge the craft, simply plug an extension cable into the AC port and a balance charge inside is programmed to automatically charge the 3 LiPo batteries that power the craft.

The propulsion system is an outboard-style drive that has a turning vector of 170 degrees which allows the craft to almost do a 360. The pivoting motor mount is turned by a waterproof HS-805BB servo and the actual propulsion system consists of a Blue Robotics T200 with a Blue Robotics Basic ESC.