APM Ver 3.2.1 questions about Rate_FF and Imax settings

Thanks in advance for all help, I am still learning but things are improving thanks to many people giving advice.
Questions APM 2.6, Ver 3.2.1 450 Helicopter, I have been tuning with rate RLL and rate PIT set low at 0.05 and using rate RLL and rate PIT FF term increasing till I get osculation, up to values now like 0.36 and flying fairly well. Is this correct procedure or should I be increasing rate P values along with rate FF values?
Should I be raising rate P values parallel to rate FF values, using both at the same time, or is it OK to just be raising rate FF value?

Someone Please explain how rate Imax is used in tuning, and how to use this Imax term value when tuning?
Thanks again

1 Like

I have used Leonard’s tuning method on the APM with AC3.2.1 with fabulous results. What I would recommend is first setting ATC_RATE_FF_ENAB , 1 then set the RAT_ PID’s to zero on pitch and roll and start with rate FF value at 0.15 on both pitch and roll.

Tune the tail so you’re happy with it first - maybe you already have that fairly locked in with good settings. So don’t change those if you have the tail already tuned. The helicopter will be quite easily controllable with just the FF set to 0.15 on pitch and roll while tuning the tail so it holds nice.

Now, on roll first since it’s normally more sensitive, increase the FF value by .02 or so at a time until you can either see in the logs that the rate peaks are matching desired vs actual, or by “feel” - the aircraft responds the way it should to rapid stick movements. I have yet to tune one with a FBL head where I had to increase the FF beyond 0.22 actually. With a flybar head where the linkage rate is normally lower you may have to go higher. But FBL you really shouldn’t have to use more than 0.22 unless you have really really slow servos or slow linkage rate.