APM 2.8 Firmware Download for Windows 11

Hello, before anything else, I would like to say I am new to ArduPilot and Arduino in general.
I have tried connecting my APM 2.8 to my laptop through USB. There is no port that is assigned to it on it. Many forums and discussion threads say that it is a Windows 11 problem because the APM is outdated and doesn’t match well with the Windows 11 updates.
I would also like to know if there is any driver to be installed because my APM is new.
All I am able to download is an APM 3.2.1 .hex file.

APM 2.8 hardware is more than 10 years old.
The newest software available for that board IS ArduCopter 3.2.1.
To operate it you need to install and use a mission Planner version from the year 2015.

Almost no one is using that board anymore. And the ones that do, usualy do not help anyone else.

1 Like

Thank you so much.
I did try installing ArduCopter 3.2.1 through MissionPlanner but my laptop refuses to recognise my APM.

You need to uninstall mission planner and install the version described above. Have you done that?

Yupp I have, I re-installed Mission Planner 1.3.30 and it was not booting up

I also want to re-iterate that it is not even getting assigned a port in my device managers,
I went ahead with add hardware legacy and did not understand what to do after that.

As Lucas mentioned, there are still some out there who happen to have that outdated board lying around.
…I happen to be one them.

The problem you are having relates to the fact that there was never a driver made for that board that is suitable for Windows 10 or 11.
Already a year or two after support stopped -still in the days of Windows7 - there was a problem in regards to suitable driver. The reason was Microsoft updated their security certificates and hardware manufacturers had to update their drivers as well. But because there was no one updating the driver anymore it was difficult to be recognised in a Windows7 system which had latest security fixes applied.