APM 2.6 Continuous GPS and Android Compatability

Hey all,

So I’m brand new here. Im a student at Elon University and have been into RC for about a year now.

For my mobile programming class I want to use my tricopter in some way. We are programming for Android, and I currently have a borrowed Nexus 7 Tablet. What I was wondering is if I would be able to provide the APM 2.6 with continuous GPS, altitude and heading updates from the tablet. The dream is to be able to power up the tri and have it follow me in a 3rd person perspective so that I can walk around with my fat sharks on.

This may not be the most original project, but I think it would be a cool first step. If anyone has links to similar build logs that would be grand.

Thanks

Bump for student struggles.

copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/ac2_followme/

There’s already a follow mode built into the code, so it already has the GPS updating thing down.

The next step for you is figuring out how to get your flight controller to talk to your Nexus. See if you can rig up an Arduino-based Bluetooth shield to your flight controller, for your Nexus - Flight Controller communications. It’s easy, fairly cheap, it won’t have super range, but for 3rd person it’s all you need. Fast too.

Also, just as an aside, since I’m attempting something similar, (reasonably affordable) GPS is reliable within 2-10 meters. That’s way too loose for 3rd person unless you just want a loose chase cam.

And, consider your GPS unit’s refresh rate. 1 Hz = 1 cycle/second = 1 GPS reading/second. This is also quite slow for 3rd person as it will reposition every second, and not necessarily be very smooth. 5+ Hz GPS units have massively dropped in price these days, get one. (You will however, be limited by your Nexus’ GPS unit, which is probably only 1 Hz, since why the hell would you need more than that in a tablet?)