Another AltHold problem thread

Hi,

so I am new to the Arducopter software and I have a question regarding the AltHold mode.

The way I think the AltHold mode should work is: If I hold the throttle stick at neutral position, the copter should maintain its current altitude and not climb or descend. Right?

The way I am experiencing it is completely different (and I dislike it very much), as you can see in the log: When I switch to AltHold mode, the copter is maintaining its climb rate. So when I give a little throttle input, the copter starts climbing, and putting it back to neutral is making it keep climbing until I give a little negative throttle stick input. Is that intended? Can I change it somehow to behave like I want it to (described at the beginning)?

The log shows desired alt and throttle input scaled down. 15 is neutral throttle. And yes, I did the throttle hover calibration with the parameter.

Thanks for your input,
Malte

Very difficult to help with out a .log or .bin file to look at.

No, this is clearly not the expected behavior in AltHold mode. As MarkM said, the .bin would help a lot.

Hi, thanks for your answers. I thought this was a common problem and the pic would be enough for the diagnosis, but I can give you the complete log AS well ofc. I uploaded it to my dropbox as the uplad here somehow didnt work… Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/mdc8e0zkfajmu1r/log.rar?dl=0

Thanks! Malte

Your Z vibrations might be a little high, not 100% sure I’m reading it right for AC3.3
If they are it would explain your problem as everything else looks OK to me.

Indeed, your vibrations are a bit high at the end of the flight. See VIBE. But this is not your issue with AltHold.