Altitude Stabilization issues in Loiter mode

Hi all,

My 3DR Iris+ (Pixhawk with ArduCopter v3.4.2 Quad installed via Mission Planner) is unable to maintain a steady altitude in the Loiter flight mode. In particular, the altitude will remain fairly stable for a few moments but then–with no user input or change in elevation–the copter will rapidly ascend. Unfortunately, my only operating environment currently is a relatively small room (roughly 8-foot ceilings) which means I have to trigger the emergency switch and kill the motors to avoid serious damage. Because I’m inside I can’t use GPS so I’ve resorted to using a PX4Flow Optical Flow board and Maxbotix EZ4 Sonar in its place.

I’m fairly new to the scene so forgive me if I’ve left out any important information; I’m happy to provide it upon request. I’m attaching four log files to this post (actually two this post and two to an immediate reply post due to new user limitations) to hopefully allow someone more experienced to offer some insight. I thought the problem may lie in the EKF settings but that may be way off track. Either way, that was where my crude debugging led me and where I looked initially for a remedy.

Default_Settings_2.bin (1.9 MB)
Default_Settings_1.bin (2.5 MB)

The two files titled Default_Settings_X.bin were from two flights using the default EKF settings. IMU_0.bin is a log file from a flight where I disabled the use of the second on-board IMU and relied only on data from the first. Finally, fearing rangefinder issues, I turned my attention to the HGT_I_GATE parameter to try and avoid erroneous readings (I lowered the valid range from 5 standard deviations to 2) and that flight information is recorded in HGT_I_GATE_200.bin.