Advise on new hardware, having frustrations with RTL

Hi there. I know this forum area said NOT to post on alternative hardware like Multiwii, but my real question is more in regards to purchasing a real APM board instead.
I got the Multiwii Pro with MTK GPS from Hobbyking, I’m a software developer so loading it up didn’t seem like a big deal for the savings. I had NO idea about all the tuning, etc involved. So, in the end, I thought I managed to get it tuned (running MegapirateNG 2.7.x). I’ve successfully flown it about 10 times now, flys great. However, I have attempted RTL to test my failsafe 3 times now, the final time resulted in a crash that’s going to cost me $50 or so (probably fairly normal in the beginning, so ok).
So yeah, flies great. I have RTL as my third flight mode, checked GPS lock over bluetooth on phone, checked failsafe on Mission Planner. All seems ok. First 2 times I tested (just going into flight mode 3) quad seemed to just pass by home spot and keep going. I was able to flip back to stability mode and fly it back home. Today I tested again, let it go a little longer thing maybe it just has to adjust. It seemed to start to circle this time like it was trying to get itself to home, but after 1/2 circle just took off in original direction, I tried to switch back and take over, it started to descend, I full throttled it and still it came down and landed hard breaking arms and such, still plenty of battery.