Advice on autonomous boat

Hi,
I am new to this discussion board and ArduPilot in general. I am working on an autonomous boat for my university research, that sends a few water parameters back to a server for real-time access. One of our goals is to have this boat run for several days, by mainly relying on the current of the body of water that it is in for propulsion, and only using an onboard motor to prevent collision or to correct trajectory if it strays to far from a predefined path. I am using a Navio2 shield for raspberry pi 4B to run Ardupilot alongside ROS.

Does this stack sound feasible for what I am asking? If so any advice on integration between ROS and ArduPilot to accomplish these tasks?

Any help is appreciated!

2 Likes

Hi Castillo,
Concerning the Ardupilot software and hardware taking in account that you are using good quality board like Raspberry and Navio I would say that you have a pretty reliable and stable system, I never used Navio but I read really good reviews about it. I use to fly for hours non-stop with Matek FCs and never had any issue so far, this to say the Ardupilot is stable. To be honest I never had a system running for days so I can’t give you a good feedback about it but if you have access to a swimming pool, try it there for a couple of days or more.
BTW I am also working on a boat project that will need to have a fleet of autonomous vessels running non-stop for months and I am also thinking about using Navio for that so, if you can update me about your progresses I will thank you a lot

Hi,

I would always go for a seperate MCU based FC with a companion computer for many reasons.

1. Freedom of choice: You can choose both components to your liking/needs. Navio only works with a Raspberry Pi and the Emlid OS image. Same goes for periphals like GPS. No chance to change to a modern chipset with a Navio, except connecting it to the only UART.