Access serial port in LUA

Hello,

I have managed to connect 3 LIDAR sensors (TF-Luna to be precise) and now want to try and implement some basic object avoidance. I am trying to write a script in LUA that will read from the serial ports however I am having issues with this.

My question is how do I access the data from a serial port in the LUA script?

For context i have my three sensors connected to telem 2, telem 3 and GPS2. They are all working as expected and i am able to get the integrated readings coming up on ardupilot mission planner.

Many thanks in advance

Did you try it with the function
AP_RangeFinder_Backend_ud:distance()
?
See list of AP lua functions

Rolf

1 Like

Before I begin I must apologise but i am a complete beginner.

Currently this is the code I have written:

– define serial port
local serialPort1 = “/dev/ttyS3” – telem2 rangefinder 1
local serialPort2 = “/dev/ttyS6” – gps2 rangefinder 2
local serialPort3 = “/dev/ttyS1” – telem3 rangefinder 3

– define local baud rate
local baudRate1 = 115200
local baudRate2 = 115200
local baudRate3 = 115200

– open serial ports
local serial1 = io.open(serialPort1, “r”)
local serial2 = io.open(serialPort2, “r”)
local serial3 = io.open(serialPort3, “r”)

if not serial1 or not serial2 or not serial3 then
print(“failed to open at least one serial port”)
return
end

My hope is that his would work but honestly I’ve no idea what is going on. At the moment I am just trying to do the most basic of bits and I think that the code you sent may be a little too advanced for me right now.

Just use ArduPilot’s existing obstacle avoidance features:
Object Avoidance — Copter documentation (ardupilot.org)