Accelerometer will not calibrate

Good evening,

I am new to the scene and on a steep learning curve. I would be most grateful for assistance in addressing my current hitch. I have fitted an Ardupilot 2.6 to a quad along with the 3DR compass/GPS unit. I have installed Mission planner 1.2.93. I am able to connect and install firmware and followed the wizard initially to run through the mandatory hardware installation. However I am unable to achieve a successful accelerometer calibration. I have watched the accompanying link and have tried quite a few times now without success. I have also tried calibrating without the wizard but continue to get the calibrate fail notice. I have also noticed several times when on the final position in the calibration sequence the procedure ends, without a key stroke and results in a failed calibration.

Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou

Make sure your usb cable is not loose.

Thanks Madhamster. I did have an issue with a shifting USB cable the first couple of times and was disconnected. I have now taped it up so that it cannot move and it will no longer disconnect when carrying out the calibration.

I guess the question is whether the accel calibration routine is failing or whether there’s a communcation problem between the APM and the mission planner.

If it displays “Calibration Failed” (or something to that effect) on the Accel Calibration screen or on the HUD (the artificial horizon) on the Flight Data screen then it’s a problem with the calibration. If you’re not seeing that then it’s a communication problem.