3Dr radio for other uses?

Hi
I would like to know if I could use the 3dr radios for something completely other than copter, planes or rovers?
I have an idea to shut off a pump when a reservoir is full wireless?
Would this at all be possible?
I would need a digital input signal sent from ground station to air station and a digital output on that side to do the switching.
Unfortunately I have no knowledge of how to program the radios or to develop software to change how it works.
Any ideas would be welcomed.

You definitely could but the radios input and output is serial data, which you would need to decode into a relay output.
You would be better off with some simple LoRa long range radio hobby parts, there is already boards to do what you want. Or Arduino stuff…

I agree 100% with Shawn. I might suggest that if this is anything “mission critical” for your organization, you would probably be best suited buying an industrial grade “Wireless I/O” module pair. They will give you an easy wire-replacement type of system. On one end, you provide an input signal and on the other end of the wireless link, you get an output signal, such as a dry contact or 24V or 120V output. They come in various types. Some can also pass analog signals, such as the very common 4-20mA current loop used widely.

Here is one example: PHOENIX CONTACT | Wireless I/O. This one is probably expensive but high quality. You can get similar from other companies. I am not endorsing that product. I have never used it, but it is an example of what you can find.

Hello
I thank you for your input.

I do have other options available locally that is not too expensive, but I have four 3dr radios available, so thought I might use them in conjunction with arduino boards since I have 2 of those too.

Maybe I will go back and use these for the rover I planned on building almost 10 years ago🤣

Thanks again.

DeSmidt Engelbrecht
Cell. +264 81 2591974

1 Like