12S Violent Crash with X-Class

Maiden flight on a 12S X-Class running Orange Cube, APD 120 amp ESC’s with 13" tri-blade props.

Check out the video for the crash.

Upon inspection after the crash, I noticed the machine screws on motor 3 mounting plate (the motor in the 10 o’clock position) was stripped out–the motor and mounting plate was detached from the arm without any signs of damage from impact. I’m thinking it lost support during flight so I looked at the logs, expecting to see motor 3 going to full throttle in order to correct but didn’t see anything that would suggest this.

This is my first time using Ardupilot so I’m very curious to see what ya’ll see here in the logs.

So far, I’m looking at RCOU C9-C12, and DesRoll and Roll for hints. Desired roll and roll show huge deviation, suggesting mechanical failure

Log: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1u7k4Lvv-cLU_meseV99RTKIBP3crweQY/view?usp=share_link

You will need to do the initial parameter setup before trying again. The parameters that the quad is on right now are defaults that are for ~10" props on a 4S battery. The mission planner helper will get you some safe values to start. Follow the tuning guide to complete the tune.

https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/setting-up-for-tuning.html#mission-planner-helper

2 Likes

Interesting find. I’ll look into it.

The log is largely useless because it appears you’ve done the absolute bare minimum just to get the motors spinning and RC transmitter connected. You’re probably lucky you didn’t hurt yourself or someone else. While I’m not very familiar with Betaflight, it appears that there isn’t much setup required before a first flight, so perhaps that’s been your experience. ArduPilot covers a MUCH wider array of hardware/frame types/sizes, so it isn’t quite as friendly right out of the gate and requires a little care and feeding.