How to add Ardupilot Parameters in source files

Hi,

I am trying to modify the AP_GPS.cpp file so the Ardupilot reports the GPS position with an offset. I would like to use the BCN_LATITUDE, BCN_LONGITUDE, BCN_ALT, and BCN_ORIENT_YAW to be able to change the offset without the need to recompile the firmware.

How can I get the value of these parameters within the AP_GPS.cpp ?

I am new to firmware programming and I am just testing. If there is a wiki where there is all the dev documentation please point me there.

Hope anyone can help me the the value to the parameters within the AP_GPS.cpp file.

Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Joel

All 1200 parameters are changeable at run time without having to recompile the source code.

Please use mission planner software to configure the parameters

Thank you for this information however, how do I get the value of the parameters inside the AP_GPS.cpp file?

My issue is that I do not know how to get the value of the parameters in the source code.

Read the source code, it already accesses the values of all the GPS parameters, use that as example. You already foun the correct file, just read it.

Instead of (mis)using existing parameters, I’d recommend adding new parameters.
The wiki explains how to do this here: Adding a New Parameter to Copter — Dev documentation

1 Like

Hi,

I am trying to add the new parameters as per the documentation.

In the AP_GPS_NMEA.h:

public:
<snip>
    static const struct AP_Param::GroupInfo var_info[];
private: 
<snip>
     AP_Int32 _origin_lat;
<snip>

In the AP_GPS_NMEA.cpp:

const AP_Param::GroupInfo AP_GPS_NMEA::var_info[] = {
     // @Param: _LATITUDE
     // @DisplayName: Origin's latitude
     // @Description: Origin's latitude
     // @Units: deg
     // @Increment: 0.000001
     // @Range: -90 90
     // @User: Advanced
     AP_GROUPINFO("_LATITUDE", 0, AP_GPS_NMEA, _origin_lat, 0),
     AP_GROUPEND
};