Non-gps navigation need help!

Hello!!
I am working on a project where we have a big drone that will have gps and will fly autonomously…
the big drone will do some image processing and if it finds a target it will send one of the 5 smaller drones it carries to the detected position…
the problem i have is that i don’t want to put a gps on the smaller drone for budget reasons…
i dont need the small drone to be really really accurate it need to be good enough…
so i was thinking of using the imu navigation of the onboard flight controller sensors…
first : is that possible ??
second : i tried doing some stuff on sitl and simulation using mavproxy i used param set SIM_GPS_DISABLE 1 to disable gps is that enough ? if so then am i only supposed to use guided_nongps mode ? i tried to do so and it arms but when give it takeoff 10 it immediately disarms and doesn’t do anything please help me i am a beginner :frowning:
any help will be appreciated!!

Are you looking for the same answer and here?

1 Like

GNSS denied navigation is useful in civilian applications too, for example for indoor or underground navigation.

why is that ?
as i said i am a beginner so tell me why ?

yes!! do you have any tips or a starting point for me to start working from there ?

I think dronekit is useful and I’m doing same thing to work in indoor non-gps flight but no luck yet.

thank you for you response!!
though i am not entirely sure that that would help since i will be flying at altitudes around 100 m…
also i want the smaller drone not to have anything other than essential parts (no gps,no camera…)
i the answers you linked contain some helpful things that i wasn’t able to catch please help me because i am still trying to figure this out…
any help would be much appreciated !!

thanks!! the thing though i was reading the other day about a comparison between dronekit and pymavlink and the likes and people were saying that dronekit is outdated and that the better of the two might be pymavlink…