New guy here trying to make sense of it all

Hi all, I’m new to the world of drones. I’ve been developing software for about 18 years now. I’ve been scanning various sites like Ardupilot, dronecode, diydrones.

I’ve noticed that there is a lot of different players in this field with what seems to be many different options. This is where the lines get blurred for me as it seems like there is a lot of crossing between different systems. One example would be APM/ArduPilot and PX4

I’m trying to understand if I can pick one or the other. OR are there aspects of both systems I need. Lets say for example I want to buy a drone kit that has no software or controller. Just a base drone shell with motors and blades. From there, where do I go?

As I understand it, 3DR has the Pixhawk controller, this is a open source hardware platform. This controller was developed by the community and 3DR manufactures it.

Then you have flight controller such as ArduPilot and PX4, this is software that will use the Pixhawk hardware. Do I have this right so far?

I hate to ask this because I know it’s a loaded question but… What platform would I want? ArduPilot or PX4? What are the advantages, disadvantages to each?

I’ll leave it at that for now, but I’m sure I’ll have a 100 other questions soon. :slight_smile:

Thanks all
Rick

Also, I just realized that there is DroneKit by 3DR… How does this come into the mix?

Well the Dronekit will let you remotely control your copter. That’s what actually makes it a drone since it’s being controlled by software and not just flying by remote control.
APM flight stack versus PX4 flight stack is a sticky one. Actually APM kind of uses some of the PX4 flight stack as a base and then adds its differences on the top. It’s kind of a brand decision.

The great news is it’s all open source.

Don’t forget to look at the Pixracer while your at it.

Mike

Hi Mike…