V2450gps , won't fly higher than 10inch off the ground. New motors fitted

I’m a newbie and this is my first drone. So I’ve had my sv for about a month and the rear left motor packed up. Had some heavy use and a couple of bumps, ok alot of bumps and a tangle with a bush. So guessing the other three might also be on their way out, I thought I’d replace all four. I live in the uk and skyrocket does not post spares to the uk. I messeged them to explain I live in uk, could Please recomend a replacement I could purchase in the uk. To which I got directed to their parts web page, which does not give you a option to post to uk. So they was useless. So went rogue and took a punt on these

After I replaced the motors I can not seem to get more than 10inchs off the ground. I’ve done all the motor calibrations. So have I been a complete melt and got the wrong motors or is there something else wrong?

Hi Lee,

I’m guessing these aren’t strong enough. Or one of the set may be really weak. Here’s one way to check for a weak motor in the set: connect to the SkyviperGPS SSID via your phone or computer and open a browser to 192.168.99.1 and this will connect you to the web AP (access point).

Click on System Status, then select the motors tab. Set the throttle level lower to a value of 20% and spin up each motor individually. Now ‘listen’ to the motors as they spin. If one of the motors is super weak, you will hear a difference. When you have a weak motor in the set, it will bring all other motors down to its level in order to compensate during flight. If you keep the frame held down, or remove the props, you can bring the throttle value up and the ‘sound’ of what you are listening for may be more clear.

Each motor has a harmonic, or frequency sound, as it powers. You’ll feel a little bit like a ‘motor whisperer’ as you do this, but you will be able to tell pretty easily if one of these guys is weaker.